Day 138 18 May – poppy seeds

It is surely that time of the year: colder, misty mornings when you wake up and your toes curl up as they touch the cold kitchen tiles and you hurryingly slip your feet into comfy slippers, when a chilly wind can be heard outside and you wrap yourself a little tighter with your old yet functional gown. I really want to get excited for winter’s arrival as I dream of the Highveld winter with it’s sunny, clear blue skies yet freezing temperatures, but I can’t express enough how much I dislike the cold.

IMG_20170518_174441_488

As a cheer-me-upper I decided to bake these citrus inspired muffins. I find that poppy seed and lemon baked goods can often be a bit dry, so I added a generous dollop of cream cheese in the center before baking them. They made wonderful lunchbox treats for the kids and they also filled the breakfast hunger spot for myself.

Leave a Reply

