Day 83 24 March – gratitude

IMG_20170324_182440_036.jpg

Today I received a card from my friend who left New Zealand a short while ago to finish her travels before she heads home. It was such a lovely surprise and it made me feel such gratitude towards our friendship.

I was reminded again, through this small gesture, of how important it is to be surrounded by people who add value to your life, who will walk an extra mile with you and who still thinks of you even though you are apart. I am truly grateful to have met some amazing people throughout my 36 years on earth. But I have also learned that unfortunately not everyone has good intentions. We need to cut ties with those who munipulates, distracts, adds negativity and do not have our best interests at heart. It certainly isn’t an easy thing to do and I had often kept ‘friends’ around out of guilt and not wanting to hurt their feelings or be portrayed as the bad one.

I remember how I had a huge friendship group while in primary school. Honestly, we could have formed our own gang. I was never bullied, never exchanged bad words to anyone or felt that I didn’t get along with any of the children in my year group. After primary school the majority of us moved to the same highschool while others went to a technology focused highschool. It was interesting seeing how these friendships from primary school soon withered as we formed new friendships. All of my newly formed friends were students from other primary schools. I still had contact with the boys who attended the technology school and we got together on a regular basis, whether it was to go to the movies, each others birthday parties or to the drive-in.

I went to university a year after highschool and attended one of its local campuses. All of my friends had since moved on from highschool, most going to universities in the larger cities and others started working. A small handful travelled overseas and had since settled in places such as the UK, Italy, Brazil. My university friends had become my family. We have been through so much together: engagements, weddings, stork teas, our children’s births, birthdays. And today it’s them who I treasure.

I think with age comes a sense a responsibility towards yourself.

 

2 thoughts on “Day 83 24 March – gratitude

  1. cheyberspace says:

    I think this is something I’ve had to learn recently. My high school friends and university friends were few and far between, because I was always training for gymnastics. But now, post gymnastics, most of us have little in common and have drifted apart. Work friends come and go, as you know. I’ve always envied people who have a friendship ‘group’, but I’m realising now to be grateful for those friends who I do have, even if it’s not as many as I’d like.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely! I am truly grateful for those who are currently in my life, even though I don’t have the same bonds with them as I do with my friends back in South Africa. I have also learned that people do come and go and there is a reason why you cross paths, regardless of the outcome. Life is a journey after all 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

