Day 38 7 February – kumara

Today was a bit of a downer for me as I am still not feeling well. I have a lingering head cold, lost count how many times I reached for a tissue to clear my nose of yucky mucus and I have a throbbing headache. I wasn’t much in the mood to do anything, let alone make dinner. But my family is waiting to be fed.

We thoroughly enjoy kumara chips as an alternative to potatoes. Kumara is New Zealand’s sweet potato, and you have a selection of three main types: orange, gold and red (or purple). We usually buy the orange one as it is the sweetest one out of the three. I peel them into thin curly strips with a potato peeler and deep fry in oil. Each batch is usually done within 2 minutes, and the oil drains very well, so you are left with thin and crispy golden clouds. Deep fry goodness!

IMG_20170207_192222_647.jpg

Oh, and our cockatiel is a huge fan of these chips too, usually steeling them from our plate while we eat.

Leave a Reply

