Day 6 6th January – gelato

I read about this little gelato café based in Onehunga, Auckland, on social media after they received the number 2 spot in the top 10 gelato cafés in Auckland. The owner also happens to be one of the rhythmic gymnastics parents from a local rhythmic gymnastics club who I have befriended 3 years ago. I decided to treat my kids for afternoon tea today and what better time to take them to this gelato café than on a warm summer afternoon.

Liky Liky Gelato Café is quint, vibrant yet classic. There’s enough flavours to choose from and not become too overwhelmed. They also have a long list of speciality coffees and teas on offer. But the best part is the staff. The owner and her front of house personnel are both Italian, heart felled, passionate and friendly. The moment she saw my daughter, she hugged her, kissed her on the cheek and called her “my champion”. Now I don’t think she kisses all her customers though. My daughter knows her very well and she always cheers my daughter on at rhythmic competitions.

IMG_20170106_195403_877.jpg

Between the 3 of us we chose 5 flavours, I had the pistachio and hazelnut gelato, my daughter had the lime sorbet with coconut gelato and my son had the crème caramel gelato. It was creamy, delightful and so bloody good.

Bellissima!

 

Leave a Reply

