Day 2 2nd January – celebration

Family is everything! And this was once again reinforced over the new years weekend. We flew down to Christchurch mainly to celebrate my sister’s 40th birthday, but turned it into a 2 day long party. Late afternoon cricket matches, late nights card games, laughing, sharing stories, listening to my nephew play guitar while we sit around the fire taking in the quite surrounding, decorating cake, eating cake, going for walks, listening to the kids bond by playing board games and darts…the list goes on.

We were 17 people in one house, 8 adults and 9 kids. It was loud and busy, yet relaxing. No need to rush, no schedule to stick to, a go-with-the-flow type of weekend.

20170101_214359_1483336017154

My sister’s best friend and I put the above cake together for her. The reason why I chose this photo to add to my dairy is because I learned a new decorating skill: making edible sugared rose petals. I had my doubts at first. I can’t say I’m a raw egg white enthusiast, but wow! After a few hours of air drying these delicate beauties, they were crisp as if touched by the cold winter morning frost.

They say sharing is caring, so here is the recipe we followed to make the sugared rose petals – http://www.food.com/recipe/homemade-crystallised-rose-petals-248004

What I found pleasing about this, apart from learning this decorative skill, was my sister’s surprised reaction when she saw the cake and heard what we did. She was humbled and thankful, and that is what it’s all about. Giving, not receiving.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

